21 September 2009

 

Gaelic events in Edinburgh Sept/Oct 2009

Gaelic events coming up in Edinburgh during Sept/Oct
Please prefix the phone numbers with +44 131

Monday 21.09.09 – 6.30pm Advanced Gaelic for Learners Telford College course, Boroughmuir High School.

Tuesday 22.09.09 – 1.00pm Gaelic Lunch Club, Mount Royal Hotel, Princes St. Guest speaker: Roy Maciver. (Cont: 07906 318561).

Tuesday 22.09.09 – 7.30pm Gaelic Conversation Circle – SNP Rooms, North St. Andrew St. with Calum Cameron. (Cont: 334 7005)

Wednesday 23.09.09 – 7.15pm Edinburgh Saltire Gaelic Choir weekly rehearsal – SNP Rooms, 16 North St Andrew Street; an opportunity to learn Gaelic songs in a supportive and friendly environment; prior knowledge of Gaelic not essential as tuition is provided. (Cont. 669 6418 or see website)

Wednesday 23.09.09 – 6.45pm Edinburgh Place-names – origins & history, 4-wk Telford College course with Neil Macgregor. (Cont: 0131 559 4428)

Thursday 24.09.09 – 7.15pm Lothian Gaelic Choir weekly rehearsal – Tollcross Primary School, Fountainbridge. (Cont: 07906 318561)

Friday 25.09.09 – 7.00pm Ceilidh nan Amhrain Gàidhlig – Gaelic & Irish songs to learn, Tollcross Community Centre. With Deirdre MacMahon.

Saturday 26.09.09 – 10.00am “Deasachadh airson an àrd-ùrlair” (Preparing for Performance) – Workshops for young people – various instruments – TX Community Centre, Fountainbridge. (Cont: Fiona Mackintosh, 476 6611)

Sunday 27.09.09 – 12.30pm Weekly Gaelic service, Greyfriars Kirk, Greyfriars Place. Mr Alasdair Macleod. (Cont: 225 1900).

Monday 28.09.09 – 6.30pm Advanced Gaelic for Learners Telford College course, Boroughmuir High School.

Tuesday 29.09.09 – 7.30pm Gaelic Conversation Circle – SNP Rooms, North St. Andrew St. with Calum Cameron. (Cont: 334 7005)

Wednesday 30.09.09 – 6.45pm Edinburgh Place-names – origins & history, 4-wk Telford College course with Neil Macgregor. (Cont: 0131 559 4428)

Wednesday 30.09.09 – 7.15pm Edinburgh Saltire Gaelic Choir weekly rehearsal – SNP Rooms, 16 North St Andrew Street; an opportunity to learn Gaelic songs in a supportive and friendly environment; prior knowledge of Gaelic not essential as tuition is provided. (Cont. 669 6418 or see website)

Thursday 01.10.09 – 7.15pm Lothian Gaelic Choir weekly rehearsal – Tollcross Primary School, Fountainbridge. (Cont: 07906 318561)

Friday 02.10.09 – 7.00pm Ceilidh nan Amhrain Gàidhlig – Gaelic & Irish songs to learn, Tollcross Community Centre. With Deirdre MacMahon.

Saturday 03.10.09 – 7.30pm Comunn Tir nam Beann Ceilidh, St. John’s Church Hall, Princes St. with Lothian Gaelic Choir & solo singers & instrumentalists. (Cont: 334 7005)

Sunday 04.10.09 – 12.30pm Weekly Gaelic service, Greyfriars Kirk, Greyfriars Place. (Cont: 225 1900).

Monday 05.10.09 – 6.30pm Advanced Gaelic for Learners Telford College course, Boroughmuir High School.

Wednesday 07.10.09 – 6.45pm Edinburgh Place-names – origins & history, 4-wk Telford College course with Neil Macgregor. (Cont: 0131 559 4428)

Friday 09.10.09 – 7.00pm Ceilidh nan Amhrain Gàidhlig – Gaelic & Irish songs to learn, Tollcross Community Centre. With Deirdre MacMahon.

Sunday 11.10.09 – 12.30pm Weekly Gaelic service, Greyfriars Kirk, Greyfriars Place. (Cont: 225 1900).

Monday 12.10.09 – 6.30pm Advanced Gaelic for Learners Telford College course, Boroughmuir High School.

Wednesday 14.10.09 – 6.45pm Edinburgh Place-names – origins & history, 4-wk Telford College course with Neil Macgregor. (Cont: 0131 559 4428)

Friday 16.10.09 – 7.00pm Ceilidh nan Amhrain Gàidhlig – Gaelic & Irish songs to learn, Tollcross Community Centre. With Deirdre MacMahon.

Sunday 18.10.09 – 12.30pm Weekly Gaelic service, Greyfriars Kirk, Greyfriars Place. (Cont: 225 1900).

Monday 19.10.09 – 6.30pm Advanced Gaelic for Learners Telford College course, Boroughmuir High School.

Saturday 24.10.09 – 7.30pm Edinburgh Argyll Association Ceilidh with the Greenock Waulking Group & instrumentalists, St John’s Church Hall, Lothian Road. (Cont: 453 5766)

Sunday 25.10.09 – 12.30pm Weekly Gaelic service, Greyfriars Kirk, Greyfriars Place. (Cont: 225 1900).

Monday 26.10.09 – 6.30pm Advanced Gaelic for Learners Telford College course, Boroughmuir High School.

Labels: , ,


10 September 2009

 

Gaelic events in London in September

Here is the exceptionally well produced 10 page newsletter in bilingual Scots Gaelic and English covering Scottish Gaelic events in London during September 2009. Enjoy!

London has the world's oldest Gaelic society (founded 1777) and the world's oldest Gaelic choir (founded 1892). Gaelic was also the first minority language to have its own mailing list I believe - Gaelic-L was founded in May 1989.

mar sin leat

Craig

Labels: , ,


03 September 2009

 

End My Credit Crunch campaign

All

The End My Credit Crunch group has now launched, please visit the group, check out what we're about and watch the group for imminent news of our launch. Free prizes, no purchase necessary and we help charities too.

many thanks

Craig

Labels: , ,


This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?